Papua New Guinea Netball News

The Pacific Netball Series (PNS)

Played annually among the top four netball playing countries in the Oceania Region, the Pacific Netball Series was conceptualised and developed in 2007 after the Mini Pacific Games by the then and current coach of the PNG National Netball Team, Mrs Pole Kassman the then Fijian head coach discussed the possibility of a regular exchange of international games against each other.  The only time Oceania region nations played against each other was at the Pacific (South Pacific) Games.


After a short period of negotiations between the other two bigger netball playing nations of the region, Samoa and the Cook Islands, an understanding was reached and the Pacific Netball Series became reality in 2008.  IFNA through ONF, sanctioned the tournament in 2008 as an annual contest between the four MOU nations of Fiji, Samoa, Cook Islands and Papua New Guinea incorporating the Series into its list of collateral required for world rankings.


The first Pacific Netball Series was hosted by Samoa in June 2009, at the fabulous Apia Pacific Games facilities and the second was hosted last year by the Cook Islands in Raratonga on the courts used to host the 2009 World Junior Champs.

Samoa won the first tournament in 2009 (Fiji pulled out at the 11th hour) and Fiji won the 2010 event.  The contests at both meets were extremely close and highly competitive.


The Pacific Netball Series is a IFNA sanctioned game.  The 3rd Pacific Netball Series was hosted by Papua New Guinea, in Port Moresby from 6 - 10 June, 2011.

2016 - PNG

Click here to edit text

2015 - Fiji

Click here to edit text

2014 - Samoa

Click here to edit text

2013 - Cook Islands

Click here to edit text

2012 - Fiji


2011 - Papua New Guinea

Held at the Waigani Indoor stadium, PNG faired poorly in front of their home crowd and loosing by substantial scores to all three other teams.  Their final game against Fiji was well attended.

2010 - Samoa